I Shot 100 Content Writing Proposals on Upwork! Only 1 hit the Target!

Sarmad Ali
2 min readSep 3, 2022

--

It's a hustle and It's lots of crazy hard work. What's crazier is that I put the minimum effort into the proposal that got me hired! No, I didn't get lucky. Those 99 shots I missed taught me where to aim!

The secret ingredient was not in the proposal but in the job post. It matched my abilities. It was in my range. I knew I could do the job. So I wrote a proposal and simply told the client.

I didn’t try to impress the client, I didn’t brag about my skills, I just told the client right away that I can easily deliver what you are looking for. It came naturally because the requirements of the client matched my skills.

It’s simple, SHOOT IN YOUR RANGE!

Here's what I learned from those 99 rejected Upwork proposals!

  • Almost every client got a list of requirements.
  • To get hired you need a proposal that checks off everything on that list.
  • The list is hidden in the job post.
  • To get the list, read the job post carefully.
  • Write the proposal in a conversational tone.

Do's and Don'ts of Writing an Upwork Proposal!

Do's

  • Carefully read the job post.
  • Identify the client's needs.
  • Make the proposal short and easier to read.
  • Talk about the client's need
  • Talk about how your skills can satisfy the need.

Don'ts

  • Don’t send automated/copy-paste messages.
  • Don’t tell stories of past experiences.
  • Don’t talk about previous achievements.
  • Don’t brag about your skills.
  • Don’t use jargon.

Good luck!

I want to Up My Upwork Game

P.S. Hey! I’ve created an Upwork playbook for you.

It includes strictly practical tips and proven strategies for writing job-winning proposals that get you hired!

Grab your FREE copy here.

--

--

Sarmad Ali

LinkedIn Ghostwriter for Tech Founders and Freelancers. On medium I talk about: writing, suffering, original thinking, opinions, self-help, etc..